top of page

My first month in Berlin

As a newbie in this city, how would I describe Berlin in three words?

NOSTALGIA

My first word is "nostalgia". I keep having these moments where I look at a building or thing, at it is as if I were transported back 40 years. This happens for example when the train (S-Bahn) passes by. Or when I look at the font of some sign. I love those moments, it's like I discovered a little gem.

Friedrichstrasse Sign

Look at this pretty font.

An old phone booth. I assumed it does not work anymore but I should have looked inside to check.

Not only does this simple and clean font with white on dark stand out, but also the old-fashioned word that I have not seen in a while.

Kino... How I've missed seeing this word. Nowadays everything is named something cool and English, like the spacey Cineplex or generic UCI.

Do you still remember these? When I was six years old I'd always pass by one on my way to school. What a joy to put in 20 Pfennig and get a surprise toy...

SPÄTI

When my boyfriend moved with me from New York to Berlin, he was worried that he'd be missing the delis.

Delis are an essential part of the infrastructure in NYC. Supermarkets are usually not in one's immediate vicinity. And going to a big supermarket like Trader Joe's or Whole Foods will cost you half an hour standing in line. At Trader Joe's you sometimes need to stand in line just to get in the store!

So delis are an organic solution: small shops that provide everything essential, from milk, to deodorants, drinks, fresh sandwiches and snacks. They are present at every corner and are open 24/7. And because they are usually at one's doorstep, customers usually do look like the deli is their extended living room - sweatpants and (most of the times) T-shirt. At least they care enough to wear shoes.

And who would have thought that Berlin has its own version of delis? Hooray! They are called "Spätkauf", or short "Späti". It's a ridiculously telling name, literally meaning "Late buy". They come very close to the NY version of the convenience store.

Expressive

Like New York, many people want to express their individuality to the outside world. Be it clothing, strong opinions, or the graffiti on the street. Berlin is far away from being uniform. Many say, Berlin is different than Germany. I start to know what they mean. The diversity in this city is something I've never come across in Germany. Everywhere I go I hear English speaking people, see English signs and menus and often get talked to in English.

More of This Month's Highlights

MUSTAFA'S GEMÜSE KEBAP

Mustafa's Gemüse Kebap - legendary kebap booth in Berlin. At any daytime the line is long. People typically wait between 20 and 60 minutes! Whaaat? An hour for a kebap? That's what we thought. But we joined the crazy crowd and after 35 minutes were rewarded with a fantastic veggie (!) kebap. Worth the wait? Crazy enough - yes, it is THAT yummy!

MOVING FROM THIS... TO THIS...

Lucky enough to spend the first month in Berlin in an awesome hotel room I got used (not to say lazy) to not having to clean the room, concierge service for every little need and enjoying the awesome shower that feels like a waterfall. Then we moved into a real apartment and stood in front of this lovely entrance. Don't be fooled! It looks wild, but inside it is just charming. Beautiful, newly renovated and quiet. The neighborhood in Friedrichshain is lively and fun. Restaurants, bars, shops, supermarkets everywhere and a Doner shop right at the corner. It's like a little heaven.

CHRISTMAS AND NYE IN BERLIN

NYE in Berlin. I was told it would be wild. But it was not as bad as expected although we went to the center of action: the Brandenburger Gate. Standing at the outer skirts of the crowds is not bad at all. Everything was well behaved and cheerful people were raising their glasses at midnight.

FISH MASSAGE

In the first five minutes it tickles like hell. And then it becomes very pleasant and it is very fascinating to see the cute little fish feasting on your feet as if they were a five star buffet after a week of fasting.

BERLIN BY NIGHT

When it is dark the streets of Berlin remind of scenes from movies. And I can hear the "dam-dam-Da-DAH-dam-dam-dah-da" from Mission Impossible.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page